Visa to Philippines

All visitors to the Philippines must have a passport valid for at least 6 months and beyond the intended period of stay, must have a return or onward tickets and documents necessary for future travel as well as sufficient fund. Under Executive Order No. 408, signed by President Carlos P. Garcia (Former President) on November 9, 1960, Philippine Visa Waiver Program is available to list of countries of countries that is eligible to participate. Participating nationals of countries, should not be classified as restricted by Department of Foreign Affairs and are to maintain diplomatic relations with the Philippines. Visa Exempt Foreigners can extend their stay every 2 months but may not exceed the maximum period of two years.

Bureau of Immigration extends the visa waiver or initial visa from 21 days to 30 days starting August 2013 for selected countries. Foreign Nationals who are visa required can extend their visa every month but will not exceed the maximum period of six months, and must have a valid ticket for travel.

Nationals of the following countries are allowed to enter the Philippines without a visa for a stay not exceeding 59 days:
1. Brazil
2. Israel

Holders of the following passports are allowed to enter the Philippines without a visa for a stay not exceeding 14 days:
1. Hong Kong Special Administrative (SAR) passports.
2. Portuguese Passports issued in Macao
3. Macao Special Administrative Region (SAR) passports

British National Overseas (BNO) passport holders are only allowed to stay not exceeding 7 days.

Nationals from Countries listed below may obtain visa (with payment) valid for 59 days upon arrival:

• Afghanistan
• Albania
• Algeria
• Armenia
• Azerbaijan
• Bangladesh
• Belarus
• Bosnia
• China
• Cuba
• Egypt
• Georgia
• India • Iran
• Iraq
• Jordan
• Kosovo
• Lebanon
• Libya
• Macedonia
• Moldova
• Montenegro
• Nauru
• Nigeria
• North Korea
• Pakistan • Palestine
• Sierra Leone
• Serbia
• Somalia
• South Sudan
• Sri Lanka
• Sudan
• Syria
• Taiwan
• Timor-Leste
• Tonga
• Ukraine
• Yemen
The Philippine Visa can be extended beyond the initial free 21 days by applying from the diplomatic and consular offices of the Philippines or by applying to the Philippine Department of Foreign Affairs in Pasay City. The visa extension can be granted for 59 days and can be renewed for a maximum of 12 months.

Requirements for temporary visitor’s visa application:
1. Passport/Travel Document valid for at least six (6) months beyond the intended period of stay in the Philippines
2. Filled in Visa application forms
3. Passport Photos (2 pieces)
4. Copies of confirmed tickets for return or onward journey to the next port of destination
6. Payment of Visa Fees

Note: Officials are very strict. Persons who overstay their visas are subject to fines and detention by Philippine immigration authorities.

Updated: 7 July 2016

Back to top button